International Conference on Engaging the Other 2008

The Power of Compassion 

This is an international, multidisciplinary, multicultural conference examining concepts of “The OTHER” from a universal, cross-cultural perspective to promote wider public dialogue about images of “Us and Them”. 20% of proceeds from the sale of prints and originals will be donated to Common Bond Institute. September 4-7, 2008 San Mateo, California

See the images from the 2006 conference here.
See the images from the 2007 conference here.

You can order signed, archival prints in small, medium and large. 20% of the proceeds from the sale of prints and originals will be donated to Common Bond Institute. If you are interested in using any of these images in association with a project or organization, please contact us.

click on thumbnails to view larger image

1 Keynote Presentation: Huston Smith, PhD

 2 Keynote Presentation: Marianne Williamson

3 All-Conference Interactive Dialogue, Facilitated by Len and Libby Traubman

4 Intergenerational Inheritance of Trauma: Fueling Future Violence Round Table Members: Stanley Krippner, PhD., Benina Gould, PhD, Skip Robinson, PhD, Kirk Schneider, PhD, Ahmad Hijazi, MA

5 Facilitated Dialogue Group

6 Psychology at the Large Scale: The Design & Transformation of Whole Societies, Presented by Don Edward Beck, PhD., Elza Maalouf, JD.

7 Facilitated Dialogue Group

8 The Development of Identity: Our Personal and Historical Relationship with The Other Panel Members: Maureen O’Hara, PhD, Don Edward Beck, PhD, Sal Nunez, JD, Michael Nagler, PhD Moderaters: Aftab Omer, PhD, & Steve Olweean, MA

9 Interfaith Harmony and Peace: The Abrahamic Journey to Peace Panel Members: Shaykh Hamza Yusuf, Chaplain Bruce Feldstein, MD, Reverend Paul Chaffee Moderators: James O’Dea, PhD & Louise Diamond, PhD

10 Environmental Sustainability: When the Earth is Our Partner Panel Members: Marc Pilisuk, PhD, Luisah Teish, Osprey Orielle Lake, Lorin Troderman, Moderater: Alvaro Cedeno, JD

11 Good Governance….Of The People, By The People, For The People Panel Members: Corinne McLaughlin, PhD, Louise Diamond, PhD, Alvaro Cedeno, JD, Tashi Wangdu, Moderators: Senator John Vasconcellos, Gay Barfield, PhD